Recipes

Sandwich Pockets

Grilled Ham and Cheese

Every tea party needs dainty little sandwiches, and ours was no exception. Months ago, I made an impulse purchase (is there any other kind?) and bought the most frivolous item I could possibly have in my kitchen… a Pampered Chef Cut-N-Seal (sandwich press). I no longer eat bread, and my kids are long grown and out of the house, but I couldn’t resist as it invoked fond memories of eating pizza tuckins at the local malt shop. For those not in the know, a tuckins was a sandwich that was grilled and sealed on the edges to hold all the cheesy gooiness inside.

We are not really the dainty cucumber type, so we chose some good old peanut butter with amaretto infused raspberry jam from Sunset Gourmet. We also made some with honey ham and Havarti cheese and then grilled them. Unfortunately learned tip: Do NOT put butter on the outside of your bread prior to pressing with the Pampered Chef Sandwich press. It will stick to the inside and not pop out. Instead, melt some butter in your pan and then grill the sandwiches to save your bread from ripping.

All in all, I would have to say that even though it took me a year to use the Cut-N-Seal, it was a fantastic purchase. It was easy to use and just the effect we were looking for with our party. As my husband tries to tell me all the time, sometimes it’s not all about you and you have to think of other people…. I’m learning 🙂

~R.Dolly

1 thought on “Sandwich Pockets”

Leave a comment