Recipes

Homemade Potato Chips

I have been making “healthy” potato chips for awhile now.

 

giphy.gif

Why the airquotes you ask? Well, maybe you didn’t, but nonetheless, I will explain. My “healthy” potato chips are microwaved *gasp! I know. They do however, have much less oil and preservatives.

healthy-potato-chip-maker

Whenever I feel like a snack, but haven’t gone to the store in awhile, I will run a potato over a mandoline, dab the slices dry with a paper towel, sprinkle them with salt and microwave them. I am the queen of useless/cool kitchen gadgets, and happen to own one of these handy contraptions (pictured on the left). You can find many versions on Amazon. If you’re smarter than me, you will find one that makes more than 20 chips at a time. Especially when you decide that this will be one of your contributions to a dinner party. doh!

 

After the first 40 chips, half of which I ate as soon as they came out of the microwave, I decided I better get my shit together and find a way to make this go a little bit faster. People were on their way and time was of the essence. I had already pre-sliced and rinsed the potatoes since that was super easy so I had an abundance of supply and very little time. Google to the rescue. I threw my version of “health” out the window, tossed them in olive oil and threw them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and cooked them in the oven at 400F for 20 minutes, flipping them over halfway through cooking. Still wasn’t as easy as buying a bag of chips, but they were impressive and tasted fantastic.  – R.Dolly

 

